Téléchargez le livre :  A Baby on the Doorstep
0%

Rachel Wesson

A Baby on the Doorstep

An absolutely gripping and heartbreaking historical fiction page-turner

Bookouture

Date de publication : 2021-01-22



3,99
Guide des formats
Description

Virginia, 1934: In the middle of the night, he crept through the bushes, thankful for the darkness, for the clouds covering the stars. Tenderly, he opened his bag, lifting the small bundle out. With tears in his eyes, he held her tight, not wanting to let her go. But he had no choice––it was the only way. “This is your new home, little one. You’ll be safe here.”
 
Distant rumblings of conflict in Europe have reached even the secluded, snow-dusted mountains of Virginia, where Lauren Greenwood faces a battle of her own. The Great Depression is crippling America, leaving millions of its victims without shoes on their feet and clothes on their backs. Hope House––the orphanage Lauren runs––is suffering more than ever.
 
The one thing Lauren is not short of is love. But with just a handful of dollars to her name, every day is a struggle to feed the orphans and keep a roof over their heads.
 
Yet she refuses to give up. When a baby is left on the porch, Lauren welcomes her with open arms. The abandoned new-born, Maisie, is left with a crumpled letter––her parents begging Lauren to look after the girl and promising to return for her one day. Lauren refuses to allow another child to fall prey to the Depression, and vows to provide little Maisie with the love and protection of a mother.
 
But when the debt collectors come calling, threatening to shut down the orphanage, Lauren runs out of hope. Any day now the children could be thrown onto the frozen streets, where survival is impossible.
 
With tragedy just around the corner, how can she ever reunite Maisie with her parents? And if she doesn’t manage to save the orphans, how will she live with herself?
 
A totally heartbreaking tale with a beautiful and hopeful message––when all else fails, love can save the day. Fans of Before We Were Yours, The Orphan Train and Diney Costeloe will be swept away by this emotional and totally gripping historical page-turner from USA Today bestselling author Rachel Wesson.
 
Readers totally love Rachel Wesson’s books:
“Love love love this book!!! I laughed, I cried and it really touched me.” NetGalley Reviewer, ?????
 
“Tissues! I cried… A masterpiece of truth! Eye-opening! I would give this book more stars if I could! I’d definitely recommend this book to everyone!” Goodreads Reviewer, ?????
 
“I loved each and every minute… Heartwrenching… Reminiscent of Of Mice and Men as well as The Colour Purple, JoJo Moyes’ The Giver of Stars with a dash of Kathryn Stockett’s The Help… Like a warm hug on a winter’s day… An emotional rollercoaster.” Rachel M Writes, ?????
 
“A tearjerker. I sobbed… I KNEW it would be heartbreaking just from the title… But it was worth all the sobbing…
Pages
n.c
Collection
n.c
Parution
2021-01-22
Marque
Bookouture
EAN papier
9781838889807
EAN EPUB
9781838889807

Informations sur l'ebook
Nombre pages copiables
0
Nombre pages imprimables
0
Taille du fichier
573 Ko
Prix
3,99 €

Suggestions personnalisées