Téléchargez le livre :  In the Quick
0%

Kate Hope Day

In the Quick

Transworld Digital

Date de publication : 2021-03-02



10,99
Guide des formats
Description

A young, ambitious female astronaut's life is upended by a fiery love affair that threatens the rescue of a lost crew in this brilliantly imagined novel in the tradition of Station Eleven and The Martian.

'Feminist and thrilling. I highly recommend this novel' ANN NAPOLITANO, author of Dear Edward
'Enthralling' COURTNEY SUMMERS, author of Sadie

June is a brilliant but difficult girl with a gift for mechanical invention, who leaves home to begin a grueling astronaut training program. Six years later, she has gained a coveted post as an engineer on a space station, but is haunted by the mystery of Inquiry, a revolutionary spacecraft powered by her beloved late uncle's fuel cells. The spacecraft went missing when June was twelve years old, and while the rest of the world has forgotten them, June alone has evidence that makes her believe the crew is still alive.

She seeks out James, her uncle's former protégée, also brilliant, also difficult, who has been trying to discover why Inquiry's fuel cells failed. James and June forge an intense intellectual bond that becomes an electric attraction. But the love that develops between them as they work to solve the fuel cell's fatal flaw threatens to destroy everything they've worked so hard to create--and any chance of bringing the Inquiry crew home alive.

Equal parts gripping narrative of scientific discovery and charged love story, In the Quick is an exploration of the strengths and limits of human ability in the face of hardship and the costs of human ingenuity. At its beating heart are June and James, whose love for each other is eclipsed only by their drive to conquer the challenges of space travel.
Pages
266
Collection
n.c
Parution
2021-03-02
Marque
Transworld Digital
EAN papier
9780857525833
EAN EPUB
9781473558892

Informations sur l'ebook
Nombre pages copiables
26
Nombre pages imprimables
26
Taille du fichier
1229 Ko
Prix
10,99 €

Suggestions personnalisées