Téléchargez le livre :  Those I Have Lost
0%

Sharon Maas

Those I Have Lost

A heart-wrenching and unforgettable World War 2 historical novel

Bookouture

Date de publication : 2021-07-09



3,99
Guide des formats
Description

A secret love affair on a faraway island. Seas crawling with Japanese spies. A terrible war creeping ever closer…
 
India, 1940 and Rosie is devastated by the sudden death of her beloved mother. The parties, smiles and games disappear, and although Rosie is desperate to stay in her home, her father cannot look after her. All alone in the world, she is sent to Sri Lanka, to live with her mother’s friend Silvia and her three sons.
 
Time passes and Rosie flourishes in her new home amongst the mango trees and canna lilies. And one day, under the heat of the Sri Lankan sun, she falls in love for the first time. But her happiness is short lived, for the brutal war that has devastated families and torn Europe apart is creeping closer to their island. One by one the men depart Sri Lanka leaving Rosie with just memories and a broken heart she must hide.
 
As Rosie waits for letters that never come, tortured by stories of torpedoed ships and massacres of innocent families, she realises that she cannot just sit and wait for news.  She volunteers to help the army, working in military intelligence to protect her island paradise. But then her work brings shocking news that makes her blood run cold. The man she loved is missing, feared dead. Yet Rosie cannot lose hope – even as more women are left widows, more children left without fathers. But when the much longed-for news comes that the war is ended, and a limping wasted figure returns home, will one final devastating revelation tear Rosie’s world apart?
 
An emotional and heartbreaking read with rich historical detail set against the backdrop of Sri Lanka during World War Two. Fans of Hazel Gaynor, Fiona Valpy Kristin Hannah and Clare Flynn will be swept away by Those I Have Lost.
 
What everyone’s saying about Those I Have Lost:
 
‘This book was beyond amazing.’ Bookstagram
 
‘I would read this book again. The author has a similar writing style to Victoria Hislop and took me on a journey through Asia during the Second World War… I couldn’t put it down.’ Goodreads reviewer, ?????
 
‘A stunning novel of WWII, of loves lost and found and the resiliency of the human spirit to survive and begin again.’ Fictionvixenreads
 
‘Unforgettable characters and setting!’ Cayo Costa
 
What everyone’s saying about Sharon Maas:
 
‘If only I could give this book 100 stars rather than 5!… Captivated me right from the start…
Pages
n.c
Collection
n.c
Parution
2021-07-09
Marque
Bookouture
EAN papier
9781800196209
EAN EPUB
9781800196209

Informations sur l'ebook
Nombre pages copiables
0
Nombre pages imprimables
0
Taille du fichier
584 Ko
Prix
3,99 €

Suggestions personnalisées